9.06.2010

Georges Chakra F/W 2010.11 Haute Couture (Collections)

Although Alber Elbaz' work at Lanvin is currently my most favorite - specifically the Fall-Winter 2010.11 c. Georges Chakra Fall-Winter 2010.11 Haute Couture collection and show in Paris was absolutely charming. The grace and elegance in his design and aesthetic is what speaks to me - so confidently. I adore the draping, the repetition of folds and shapes, the use of color to create ambiance and atmosphere, the asymmetry, the d√©grad√© effect in the luxurious velvet fabrics creates a pleasing iridescence, I especially love Chakra's signature use of pleated tulle. There are many new and intriguing silhouettes that are rarely seen on the runways, also a sculptural element within the garments. This collection is truly inspiring vision.


Static images can only 'say' so much, view the full show. Stunning!



Black satin, asymmetrical dress, highlighted with sequined bands.
Iridescent emerald-green strapless dress with asymmetrical bow. 
Iridescent emerald-green strapless gown, draped side slit.

9.05.2010

New York Fashion Week S/S 2011 - Live Streams (Extensive Research)

As New York Fashion Week awaits it's Spring-Summer 2011 shows at the new location that is Lincoln Center - say goodbye to the famed white tents of Bryant Park. Personally, I was a bit shocked, I heard the news from Heidi Klum - no, not face to face - but from the first episode of Project Runway. The white tents were a tradition - I want to see the tents being set up when I attend fashion week in the near future, but fashion changes ever so speedily forward.





Can't make it to fashion week, no worries I am there with you too. Here is a list in chronological order of designer Live Streams, get the best seat in the house - live! It is just as valuable.




View the show schedule, here.


Fashion's Night Out (FNO):   7pm - Sep. 7    www.cbs.com/fno 


Perry Ellis:   7pm - Sep. 9                           www.perryellis.com


Christian Sirriano:   2pm - Sep. 9                    www.swarovski.tv


Academy of Art University:   8pm - Sep. 10    www.academyart.edu


BCBGMAXAZRIA:  10am- Sep.10    www.facebook.com/BCBGMAXAZRIA


Prabal Gurung:   1pm- Sep. 11      www.prabalgurung.com


DKNY:   1pm- Sep.12                  www.facebook.com/DKNY


Custo Barcelona:   7pm - Sep.12   www.custo-barcelona.com


Carlos Miele:   11am - Sep. 13     www.carlosmiele.com.br


Donna Karan:   2pm - Sep. 13       www.donnakaran.com 


Rad by Rad Hourani:   3pm - Sep.13  www.radhourani.com/pages/rxrh2-rsvp  RSVP


Betsey Johnson:  6pm- Sep. 13     www.mbfashionweek.com/designers/betsey_johnson


Badgely Mischka:  10am - Sep. 14  www.badgley-mischka.com  RSVP


Michael Kors:    10am - Sep. 15   www.michaelkors.com


Anna Sui:  6pm - Sep. 15             www.annasui.com


Issac Mizrahi:  12pm- Sep. 16      www.isaacmizrahiny.com


Also, Style.com will have a few live streams to celebrate their 10th anniversary since launch date.


"To mark Style.com’s 10th birthday, the site is planning to launch an iPad app and live-stream about 20 runway shows (Alexander Wang, Proenza Schouler, Michael Kors and Burberry Prorsum are on board) through a sponsorship deal with Lexus." - WWD


Source(s): For more updates on Live Streams S/S 2011 - the Fashion Spot http://forums.thefashionspot.com/f60/livestreams-s-s-2011-a-110193.html#ixzz0yfuzIqH8
http://newyork.mbfashionweek.com/schedule/fall_2010/sept09?filter=digital


*List will be updated for the duration of NY fashion week 
*All time is marked Eastern (ET) time US. 

9.04.2010

Lanvin for H&M - Designer Collaboration 2010

Word's out literally all over the blogoshpere and online fashion news sources - Paris Haute Couture House Lanvin by Alber Elbaz will be collaborating with H&M for 2010. Yes, I am extremely excited to see visionary design being made available to the 'masses' per se.
I am also doubly excited to see climactic 30 second videos of stereotypical designers, in their enigmatic and exuberant element. View these videos, here.

The collection will be in stores November 20th - reportedly.



The Future of Fashion. Who is this Catherine Deneuve, Carolina Herrera, paid actress? By far my favorite video from H&M Collab. 2010



Proenza Schouler F/W 2010.11 (Ad Campaign)

Watch behind the scenes footage of the ad campaign, here.

Uptown & Down - V Magazine 67 (Editorials)

Stunning models Carmen Kass, Freja Beha Erichsen, Anna Selezneva and Sasha Pivovarova in an edgy bauhaus inspired editorial spread in V Magazine 67.




Image(s) courtesy of Fashioncopious.com

9.03.2010

Gareth Pugh - In Fashion (Interview)

As part of Showstudio's 'In Fashion' interview series, Gareth Pugh is interviewed by Alexander fury about his expereince in fashion. View the interview, here.



Image courtesy of Showstudio.com

9.02.2010

V Magazine 67 - Fall 2010 (Cover)

Lady Gaga and Marc Jacobs on the cover v67. Photographed by Mario Testino. View more details, here.


Click cover(s) to enlarge. 


Christian Dior F/W Haute Couture 2010 - 2 (Collections)

Have you noticed the new banner "above"! Yes, it is CD Fall-Winter 2010. Here's the details from the collection. View my favorite looks from the previous post 1, here


Words - cannot possibly describe these incredibly fabulous and amusing details. Enjoy with your sense of sight.




A delightful twist to the somber color-palette of winter and definite start to the Paris couture shows. Galliano gives fall a much needed explosion of color and decadence. The inspiration was clear - in this collection "Florals!", also stemmed from the 1959 S/S "Tulip" Collection. Yards and yards of tulle and multi-hued fabrics feathered, ruched, and ruffled!

9.01.2010

Fall Trend Report 2010 in print

I am part of a very small and rather exclusive group of individuals who run my school's Newspaper (Edge). And, I was excited to write a Fall Trend Report for my peers - critique & comment dearies.....

Click article to enlarge.